The University of Chicago Magazine June 1996
Return to June 1996 Table of Contents

Alumni elect board of governors

New team: President Klingensmith (left); vice presidents Levey, Alper, and Snyder.

Michael J. Klingensmith, AB'75, MBA'76, will lead a new team of officers elected at the April meeting of the Alumni Association Board of Governors. Klingensmith-founding publisher of Entertainment Weekly and a board member since 1992-succeeds Linda Thoren Neal, AB'64, JD'67, whose term expires June 30.

In accepting the position, Klingensmith praised Neal for her strong leadership as president. "Coming off a two-year period of intensive rethinking of the role and the strategy of the alumni board," says Klingensmith, "I think it's time to turn our focus to creating and implementing programs to strengthen the lifetime relationship between the University and its alumni." Toward that end, he named three main objectives:

As past president, Neal will remain on the board another year. Bob Levey, AB'66, was elected to a second term as vice president, while current board members Jean Maclean Snyder, AB'63, JD'79, and Andrew Alper, AB'80, MBA'81, were also elected as vice presidents.

In its April meeting, the board also bid farewell to five departing members: Jack J. Carlson, AB'40; Katherine Dusak Miller, AB'65, MBA'68, PhD'71; David Terman, AB'55, SB'56, MD'59; and Richard Bechtolt, PhB'46, AM'50-all completing six years on the board and therefore not eligible for reelection; and Frederick Paulsell, Jr., AB'62, MBA'63, who decided not to seek another term.

New members joining the board in July are: Adrianne Harvitt, AB'75, MBA'76; James McQuaid, SB'60; M. Thomas Murray, AB'47, JD'51, and Geralyn ("Geri") Yoza, AB'81, MBA'87.

In this department:

Plus items For the Record.

Go to:Return to June 1996 Table of Contents